13 candidates nominated for Supreme Court seats

[private]The Judicial Nominating Commission has forwarded 13 names to Gov. Nathan Deal to consider for three openings on the Georgia Supreme Court.

The list released Monday is dominated by seven nominees from the state Court of Appeals: Billy Ray (a former state senator from Gwinnett County), former legislator Michael Boggs, John Ellingson, Lisa Branch, Carla Wong McMillan, Yyvette Miller, and Nels Peterson.

The other nominees include Superior Court Judge Lawton Stephens of Athens, state Sen. Charlie Bethel (R-Dalton), Superior Court Judge Stephen Goss of Albany, Fulton County State Court Judge Eric Richardson, Solicitor General Britt Grant of the attorney general’s office, and Deputy District Attorney Paige Reese Whitaker of Fulton County,

They would be filling two new seats on the Supreme Court and replacing retiring Justice Hugh Thompson.

Deal is likely to pick the new justices from that list, but is not required to.

The JNC also nominated two candidates to replace Jon Bolling Wood as a Superior Court Judge in the Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit: District Attorney Herbert E. “Buzz” Franklin Jr. and Summerville attorney Don W. Thompson.

© 2016 by The Georgia Report


Tags: Georgia Supreme Court , JNC , Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit , Nathan Deal