The field swells to 18 candidates in 6th District race

[private]Qualifying ended Wednesday with a whopping 18 candidates paying the $5,520 fee to run in the April 18 special election in the 6th Congressional District.

There are a few familiar names in the field of candidates and several obscure ones as well in the campaign to replace Tom Price in Congress.

The 11 Republicans include former secretary of state Karen Handel, former state senator Judson Hill, former state senator Dan Moody, political activist Amy Kremer, Johns Creek Councilman Bob Gray, Donald Trump activist Bruce LeVell, business executive David Abroms, economist Mohammad Ali Bhuiyan, Dunwoody pilot Keith Grawert, accountant William Llop, and businessman Kurt Wilson

The five Democratic candidates are former state senator Ron Slotin, former congressional aide Jon Ossoff, sales manager Ragin Edwards, college professor Richard Keatley, and physician Rebecca Quigg. Former legislator Sally Harrell said she would run in this special election, but did not qualify.

There are two independent candidates: Alexander Hernandez and Andre Pollard.

Under Georgia law, the special election is a “jungle primary” with all candidates on the same ballot. The top two finishers advance to a June 20 runoff election if no one gets 50 percent of the vote in the April 18 balloting.

© 2017 by The Georgia Report


Tags: 6th Congressional District , special election candidates