Ralston announces transit funding committee members

[private]House Speaker David Ralston unveiled a 17-member Commission on Transit Governance & Funding that will study the state’s transit needs and try to figure out how to pay for those needs.

“Transit is becoming more and more important to Georgia’s future,” Ralston said. “Situations like the recent I-85 rebuild have clearly demonstrated the importance of transit to our state and its economy.”

The House members on the committee include Rep. Kevin Tanner (R-Dawsonville), the chairman, along with Reps. Christian Coomer (R-Cartersville), Mary Margaret Oliver (D-Decatur), Jason Shaw (R-Lakeland), Calvin Smyre (D-Columbus), and Tom Taylor (R-Dunwoody).

County representatives on the committee are Fulton County Commissioner Liz Hausmann, Curtis Kolber, the executive director of Chatham Area Transit, Athens Transit System Director Butch McDuffie, and Gwinnett County Commissioner Charlotte Nash.

Citizen members include Brian Anderson, president of the Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce; Rhonda Briggins, president of the Georgia Transit Association; state Sen. Butch Miller (R-Gainesville), and Cobb County Commissioner Bob Ott.

The ex-officio members are DOT Commissioner Russell McMurry, MARTA CEO Keith Parker, and Chris Tomlinson, executive director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority.

© 2017 by The Georgia Report


Tags: David Ralston , transit committee