Political Notes – Kemp will give personal voter data to feds; other states won’t

[private]Secretary of State Brian Kemp will turn over voter data to a controversial commission appointed by Donald Trump to investigate alleged voter fraud, a step that his counterparts in other states are refusing to do.

Kemp’s office said late last week it will give the “election integrity” commission voter data that is already available to the public, but will stop short of handing over personal data protected by state privacy laws – such as driver’s license and Social Security numbers.

Trump’s commission, which he appointed after making unproven claims that Hillary Clinton won the popular vote in last year’s presidential election because of millions of illegal voters, has drawn fire from civil rights groups who see it as an attempt to suppress minority votes.

Election officials and governors in more than 20 states, however, are refusing to comply with the commission’s data requests.

The recalcitrant states include California, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New York, North Dakota, South Dakota, Tennessee and Virginia.

The most colorful denial was issued by Mississippi Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann, who is a Republican: “They can go jump in the Gulf of Mexico and Mississippi is a great State to launch from.”

Trump was angered by the states’ refusal to give him this data, tweeting:  “What are they trying to hide?”

Executive appointments

The governor’s office announced the following appointments to state boards and commissions –

The George L. Smith II World Congress Center Authority: Chris Cummiskey of Atlanta, a Georgia Power executive; Glenn Hicks III of Duluth, managing director of First Beacon Capital; and Doug Tollett of Cumming, a real estate developer.

Georgia Regional Transportation Authority: Walter “Sonny” Deriso Jr., the founding chairman and a founding director of Atlantic Capital Bank and Atlantic Capital Bancshares Inc.; Ann Miller Hanlon of Dunwoody, the executive director of the Perimeter Community Improvement Districts; Martha Martin of Hoschton, who owns a trucking company; Gwinnett County Commission Chair Charlotte Nash; Narender G. Reddy of Lawrenceville, the president of Sterling Realty Services Inc.; J.T. Williams of Stockbridge, the CEO of Killearn Inc.; and Shaun Willie, a lawyer from Union City;

Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities: Kimberly Carroll-Hawkins of Marietta, who works with the Cobb County Judicial System, and Kenneth Holton of Valdosta, the executive director of Raintree Village Children and Family Services.

Board of Public Health: Kathryn Cheek, a Columbus pediatrician; John Haupert, the CEO of Grady Health System; and Phillip Williams of Watskinsville, the founding dean of the College of Public Health at the University of Georgia.

Lake Lanier Island Development Authority: Michael Bennett of Cumming, who owns a beef cattle business in Forsyth and Walker counties.

Professional Standards Commission: Danielle Bruce of Madison, a teacher at Morgan County Middle School; Jackie McDowell of Rome, the assistant provost for external relations at Berry College; and Beth Townsend of Canton, a special education teacher in Cherokee County.

Sexual Offender Registration Review Board: Donna Andrews of Ball Ground, a retired probation officer; Gerard Armorer of Stone Mountain, who works for the Rockdale Judicial Circuit for the Department of Community Supervision; state Rep. Mandi Ballinger (R-Canton); Jenitha Gouch of Jonesboro, a victim assistance supervisor with the Clayton County Solicitor General’s Office; andJason Swindle of Carrollton, the senior partner at Swindle Law Group.

Southern Regional Education Board Legislative Council: Matt Arthur of Lakemont, the deputy commissioner for the Technical College System of Georgia, and state Rep. Robert Dickey (R-Musella).

State Board of Accountancy: Charles Cole of Cumming, an accountant.

State Board of Pharmacy: Bruce Faulk, an Eatonton pharmacist, and Bill Prather, a Blue Ridge pharmacist.

State Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Electrical Contractors: Earl Graham of Braselton, the president of Grayco Electrical; Jerry Hayes of Marietta, the president of United Electric Company; Chris Joiner of Byron, an electrical contractor; and Roland Weekley of Lilburn, a principal at Leppard Johnson & Associates.

State Housing Trust Fund for the Homeless Commission: Alison Goldey of Macon, the executive director of the Macon-Bibb County Land Bank Authority; Sandra Hudson of Rome, the executive director of Northwest Georgia Housing Authority (NWGHA); William McGahan of Atlanta, the chairman of Georgia Works; and Ryan Willoughby of Columbus, the executive director of Habitat for Humanity of Georgia (HFHGA).

State Interagency Coordinating Council for Early Intervention Programs- Babies Can’t Wait: Glenn Allen, the director of communications for the Georgia Department of Insurance, and Erica Glenn of Gainesville, the grants program consultant for the Georgia Department of Education’s Division of Federal Programs.

State Rehabilitation Council: Brenda Bentley-Parrish of Ellenwood, a management and program analyst for the Internal Revenue Service; Dawn Johnson of Winder, the director of adult programs for the Frazer Center; Lisa Leiter of Marietta, a transition resource specialist for the Cobb County School District; Wina Low of Atlanta, a program manager with the Georgia Department of Education; Carl McKinney of Griffin, a retired special education teacher; Justin Pressley of Gainesville, the president of Access to a Better Tomorrow; and Rossany Rios of Hampton, a rehabilitation counselor for the State of Georgia.

Technical College System of Georgia Board: Ben Bryant of Atlanta, the associate general counsel for InComm; Buzz Law of Alpharetta, the president of Creative Financial Group; and Sylvia Russell, a past president of AT&T Georgia. She

© 2017 by The Georgia Report


Tags: Brian Kemp , Donald Trump , personal voter data