Deal widens emergency declaration to 30 counties

[private]Gov. Nathan Deal has expanded his state of emergency declaration to cover 30 counties in southeast Georgia as Hurricane Irma draws closer to the U.S. coastline.

The governor’s executive order authorized up to 5,000 Georgia National Guard members to be on state active duty to support Hurricane Irma response and recovery.

“The state is mobilizing all available resources to ensure public safety ahead of Hurricane Irma,” Deal said. “I encourage all Georgians in our coastal areas that could be impacted by this storm to evacuate the area as soon as possible.”

“Beginning Saturday, a mandatory evacuation order will take effect for Chatham County, all areas east of I-95 and some areas west of I-95 that could be impacted by this catastrophic hurricane and storm surge,” Deal said.

The counties now under a state of emergency are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne and Ware counties.

The Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMA/HS) is coordinating the state’s disaster preparedness efforts along with the Georgia Department of Defense, the Department of Transportation, the Department of Natural Resources and the Department of Public Safety.

© 2017 by The Georgia Report


Tags: Georgia response , Hurricane Irma