Political Notes — Deal shifts agency heads, appoints new Regents members

[private]Gov. Nathan Deal has moved the executive director of the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement (GOSA), Martha Ann Todd, to a new position as deputy commissioner of the Technical College System of Georgia.

Cayanna Good, the deputy director of innovation and academic strategy at GOSA, will become the new executive director at the agency. Both changes are effective Jan. 2.

“Martha Ann has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to Georgia’s students and her efforts at GOSA have proven instrumental in identifying and addressing the challenges facing our education system,” Deal said.

Todd has been the executive director of GOSA since March 2013. She previously was an assistant superintendent for Meriwether County Schools and an associate superintendent of teacher and leader effectiveness with the Georgia Department of Education.

Good previously was the director of school improvement for the Georgia Department of Education and worked as an education program manager for the department’s charter school division.

Deal also announced five appointments to the Board of Regents.

The governor reappointed Don Waters of Savannah to the board’s First Congressional District seat and Dr. C. Thomas Hopkins of Griffin to the Third Congressional District seat.

Barbara Rivera Holmes, the president and CEO of the Albany Area Chamber of Commerce, was appointed to replace Doreen Poitevint in the Second Congressional District seat.

Allen Gudenrath of Macon, a senior vice president with Morgan Stanley’s Wealth Management Division, was named to replace Rusty Griffin in the Eighth Congressional District seat.

Erin Hames of Atlanta, formerly an education policy advisor to Deal, was appointed to replace Larry Walker, who recently stepped down as an at-large member of the board.

Ralston names new House chairs

House Speaker David Ralston has named four new chairmen of House committees, changes made necessary by recent resignations of House members.

The new committee chairs are:

  • Code Revision Committee:  Rep. Timothy Barr (R-Lawrenceville)
  • Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government:  Rep. Chad Nimmer (R-Blackshear)
  • Industry & Labor Committee:  Rep. Bill Werkheiser (R-Glennville)
  • Small Business Development Committee:  Rep. Sam Watson (R-Moultrie)

ACCG honors Beach

State Sen. Brandon Beach (R-Alpharetta) has been named by the Association County Commissions of Georgia (ACCG) as the winner of the organization’s annual Legislative Services Award.

“The ACCG Legislative Service Awards honor those who understand the importance of county governments and use their position to make Georgia a better place by purposefully improving the lives of citizens,” said ACCG Interim Executive Director Dave Wills.

ACCG commended Beach as “an advocate for transit and the mechanisms that will help keep all Georgians moving.”

© 2017 by The Georgia Report


Tags: ACCG , Board of Regents , Brandon Beach , David Ralston , House committee chairs , Nathan Deal